Print    Close This Window
Ohio ESC Association Recognize Ohio’s Top Scholars
The Ohio Educational Service Center Association (OESCA) recognized 84 of Ohio’s top students from across the state during the 32nd Annual Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Awards Program on Tuesday, April 27, 2021. Among them was Ryleigh Adkins, of Valley High School.

The awards program, named in honor of Ohio’s 31st State Superintendent of Public Instruction, Franklin B. Walter, was established in 1989 by OESCA to promote and recognize outstanding student leaders for their academic achievement and service to their schools and communities. One senior from each county in Ohio was eligible to receive this annual honor.

Eligible applicants must be a high school senior enrolled in a public school within an ESC’s service region. Recipients were required to demonstrate outstanding academic achievement and community service as indicated by high school grades, test scores, school and community activities and awards.

Ryleigh Adkins, of Valley High School, was selected from Scioto County. She plans to study molecular genetics at The Ohio State University.

“Ryleigh is a very hard-working, intelligent, young lady. She is very deserving of this award, and we are extremely proud and excited for Ryleigh as she begins her pursuit of a medical degree at Ohio State University this fall. Her dedication and determination, as well as her ethics and integrity as a young lady, will not only honor Valley High School, but all of Scioto County and the surrounding districts in our area,” said Valley Middle and High School Assistant Principal Todd Yeagle.

State Superintendent of Public Instruction, Paolo DeMaria delivered this year’s keynote address.

“We are honored to have the State Superintendent address the students and families,” stated OESCA Executive Director Craig Burford. “In order to achieve this level of success, especially during the past year, these students have demonstrated bold leadership, resilience and grit. These are the same characteristics the department and state board of education promote through ‘Each Child, Our Future’ the state’s strategic plan for education. We are grateful to have Superintendent DeMaria address the award winners.”

Over the past 32 years, OESCA has recognized nearly 2,600 scholars and student leaders during this event. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic this year’s event was held virtually through two-way interactive video and live streamed on the Association’s YouTube Channel and Facebook Live.

"The South Central Ohio ESC is pleased to be a part of this program with OESCA to provide scholarship opportunities to outstanding students such as Ryleigh. She has worked hard to earn this and we are very proud and excited to help support her further education," said SCOESC Superintendent Sandy Mers.

For more information about the South Central Ohio ESC, visit online at, or follow on Facebook and Twitter.