Menu Icon
Students awarded following Visually Literate Art Show
Published on May 23, 2018
More than 175 people attended the 2018 Scioto County High School Art Show “Visually Literate” Closing Reception and Awards Ceremony, May 17, at the Vern Riffe Center for the Arts at Shawnee State University, in Portsmouth, Ohio. The reception followed the annual exhibit, which was open to the public from May 9-17 in the Appleton Gallery at the Shawnee State University.

During the Awards Ceremony on May 17, students who created portraits as part of the Memory Project were also recognized along with students who were accepted into the Visually Literate Exhibition. Sharee Price, gifted services coordinator at the South Central Ohio ESC, coordinated the event and presented awards.

The Northwest High School Jazz Band, led by Christy Stephan and Callie Barnhouse, performed at the reception prior to the awards being presented.

Matt Cram, chair of the art department at Shawnee State University, awarded scholarships to Kirbi Sommers of Valley High School and Emily Phipps of Wheelersburg High School, both of whom will be attending Shawnee State University next fall to study art.

Benjy Davies, professor of art at the University of Rio Grande, was the juror for the show and the keynote speaker at the Awards Ceremony. Categories included: Black & White Drawing, Painting, Color Drawing, Sculpture, Functional Art, Mixed Media, and Photography/Graphic Design.
“I was really amazed by the quality,” Davies said. “A lot of the students seemed to be thinking about a journey, or a movement. They seem to be thinking about their personal growth, as well as social and political issues, and I thought that kind of engagement was really encouraging. We always hear about young people being disengaged and not being interested. These young people clearly are interested and are engaged in the broader world.”

Honorable Mentions were awarded to: Makenzie Howard, Kalyn Parker, Carissa Shaffer, Heaven Washington, Kayla Perry, Jordan Jennings, Jordan Piatt, Trisha Patel, Emily Phipps and Andy Arnett.
Third Place awards went to Brooklyn Green of Portsmouth for Mixed Media; Sammi Jo Salyer of Valley for Painting; Keeton Brown of Clay for Sculpture; Christina Gray of Portsmouth for Color Drawing; London Hall of Clay for Photography; Alexandra Puckett of Minford for Ceramics and Allison McKenzie of Wheelersburg for Black and White Drawing.

Second Place awards went to Sarah Simmons of Portsmouth for Mixed Media; Mariah Stonerock of South Webster for Painting; Kariah Humston of Valley for Sculpture; Katie Woten of West for Color Drawing; Angelina Hartley of Clay for Photography; Alanna Perkins of Minford for Ceramics and Gabrielle Deacon of Wheelersburg for Black and White Drawing.

First Place winners were awarded $75 each, and awards went to Sarah Cunningham of Minford for Mixed Media; Marissa Halter of Wheelersburg for Painting; Savanna Spence of Portsmouth for Sculpture; Gabrielle Deacon of Wheelersburg for Color Drawing; Madison Cochran of West for Photography; Carissa Shaffer of Minford for Ceramics and Madison Williams of Valley for Black and White Drawing.

Best of Show was awarded to Whitney Breech of Northwest High School for her drawing titled “17 (A Tribute to those killed in the Florida school shooting).” Whitney was presented a $250 award with her Best of Show medallion.  

For more information about the ESC, visit online at www.scoesc.org, or follow on Facebook, YouTube, and Twitter.
South Central Ohio ESC

522 Glenwood Avenue
New Boston, OH 45662
Phone 740-354-7761
Fax 740-354-6778
Where Service is Central
Google Play iTunes Kindle Windows Store
© Copyright. 2019. All Rights Reserved. School CMS Created by eSchoolView